IBEROSTAR Bávaro Suites
Our guests reviewsIBEROSTAR Bávaro Suites
Food was good and most of the shows very entertaining.
"Rooms need to be refreshed....they're a bit tired. Also, at times there was a language barrier...they couldn't understand us. Also, housekeeping halfway through the stay didn't leave any wash cloths or shower caps. After asking, they compiled two days later. "Rating: 8,0
Our 11th stay at Iberostar resort – Great Place, really enjoyed it!
"This was our 11th stay at Iberostar resorts. I’ll do my best to rate this place on its own merits without comparing to others... We flew from Toronto with Air Canada Rouge (about them later) to La Romana airport. This is actually the best option, the airport is small, going through customs is a breeze, we were the only flight and just in half an hour (20 min drive) we were in the resort. Check in was quick and nice. We asked for specific building and Maria was very kind to accommodate our request, finding us a room there. We stayed in Building 4, third floor, facing away from the pool, it was nice as it gives you sense of privacy and no noise. The room is not a big one, but nice and clean, everything was in working order. We asked for extra hangers and ironing board, all was delivered quickly. Resort is beautifully maintained, grounds are clean, nice and the little nature park in the middle is great. You can watch flamingos, cranes, turtles, absolutely magnificent. Swimming pools are OK, nothing fancy, we didn’t spend much time there. Note of caution though, people ‘reserve’ sunbeds very early, same as the beach, so if you want nice shady place around the pool, please come early. By 7am, lots of sunbeds are already taken. Beach is great, we enjoyed it immensely. Why to spend time at the pool, when there is such magnificent beach, which has “blue flag” designation. As it was noted by other folks, water goes considerable deeper just few meters off the beach, about 4 – 5 feet, but it stays the same depth pretty much all the way to the buoy line. If you want some snorkeling adventure, keep to the left side, just in front of lighthouse beach bar, they dropped some concrete cones there to create artificial reef. Some corals are already growing there, lots of fish, sea urchins (be careful). If you bring some bread there, these little stripy fishes will love you and grab bread (cookies, doughnuts, whatever you take with you) just from your hand. Have underwater camera handy, lots of fun. And if your kid loves snorkeling, that’s the place to be. (just stay away from Dressel snorkeling offers, but this is a separate part). Also, as it was noted before, if you want front line of sun beds, be there before 7am, otherwise you’re out of luck Food is OK, to be fair. Selection is pretty repetitive, their theme nights could offer more options. At the same time, you always find some good stuff, breakfast offer pretty much any option you want, lots of fresh fruit, juices, pancakes, eggs, cheese, pastries, whatever you wish. For lunch I definitely recommend either main buffet or beach place where they make paella, seafood pasta, that was really delicious. Poolside restaurant was very crowded with smaller selection of food and, we walked in and … walked out… didn’t like it at all. Dinner was OK, they had lobster few times and it was good. We were waiting for Dominican night and were quite disappointed. At the same time, New Year dinner (and New Year party) was absolutely outstanding. As for a la carte restaurants, we went to the gourmet (Colonial) and Japanese. Gourmet was really good, food was well prepared and arranged, Japanese was OK. The best drinks were at the lighthouse bar. They make the best mojito! The worst – lobby bar. Somehow folks who work there have to be (re-)trained. One guy made absolutely the worst mojito I’ve ever had. For daiquiris they use slush from machine and are you’ve to ask and point to blender if you want to have proper one. Make sure you watch over your drink preparation and be prepare to “micro-manage” your bartender. Not worth tipping. We truly enjoyed room service, asking for fruit platter late night. Great refresher, fruit always freshly cut, neatly arranged, and promptly delivered. Kudos! Special thanks to the entertainment team: Rolando, Marcelo, Nicolas, Lenny (happy-happy), you guys truly rock and we love you! They were genuinely entertaining, fun, pleasure to talk to! One of the best (if not THE BEST) Star Friends team. Our respect and gratitude to you all. A note about crowd. This was one of kind. We haven’t seen such mix at any other resorts. The language we heard most was French, followed by Spanish (South American folks), Italian, German, Russian, then (remote) English. We heard Dutch and Portuguese. Truly international place. The only downside – Europeans smoke like trains.. @#$%... Ladies and gents, please drop… if you don’t care about killing your lungs and second-hand smoking your kids, think about other people around you. Now, some notes about Air Canada Rouge.. Air Canada “parents”, please drop this child brand delivering inferior service and making shame of you. On our flight to La Romana, there was no water in the washroom, there was no Rouge Plus service (though it’s advertised on their web site as available on all Caribbean flights). On return flight, beer was lukewarm, and after hearing my complaint flight attendant suggested dropping ice into the beer (!). Attitude of a high school drop-outs. There is no excuse to bad service. I enjoyed Air Canada hospitality over the last year (made almost 140K miles) and would definitely recommend either bringing “Rouge” back to “parents” or making sure that it doesn’t shame them and delivers service level that matches Air Canada. In the rank “good, bad, and ugly” the last one goes to Dressel folks, where “Dr..” stands for “Dreadful”. Dreadful for our experience during the snorkeling tour we had, dreadful for the attitude of their head office customer service. Please stay away from their snorkeling tours, you’ll be VERY disappointed or like in our case, terrified. We had previous decent experience with Dressel in Mexico and Jamaica and decided for a local snorkeling tour that offered about 2.5 hours at ship wreck and a coral reef. As it turned out, the tour guide spoke no English whatsoever and therefore couldn’t provide any guidance… whatsoever… The first stop was OK, it was quite interesting to see big vessel, submerged, though waters were quite choppy and a quite a bit murky. The nightmare started at the second stop, the “reef”. We were dropped in the middle of two or three other boats in very close proximity, on a top of what they call a “reef”, it’s rather a coral cemetery. Our guide jumped in the water and swam away. I made sure that my 11-years daughter got her gear right and we followed. When we entered water, I and my daughter followed the guide. My wife got confused and swam in different direction, so I went after her. The other boat was between us. When I caught my wife, I saw my daughter swimming towards us, straight into rear of the other boat with roaring engines. At this moment, our guide was alone, there was no one with him, and he did not make any attempt to stop my daughter swimming towards propellers. Folks, I've never thought I could scream that loud, and feel that desperate seeing my daughter swimming right into propellers of the boat….. I consider this a gross violation of any safety procedures and guide's duty to safeguard well-being of people that are trusted to him. His incompetence reflects base management that hired him. I don't even talk about dreadful place we were taken to and it took less than an hour of what was promised. If this is level of services that are delivered at that base, than those people deserve all words that I have for them. When we got back I spoke to manager on duty, Ivo Silva, I asked him for full refund, which was refused and delegated to a base leader Mr. Maffioni. I was provided his email. I wrote a complaint explaining the situation, but never received any reply. I wrote to the Dressel corporate customer center, once again explaining the situation and asking for refund and apologies. I got a reply from Steven Peter, Customer Service Manager. No apologies, no refund, but offered vouchers… $150 valued more than good reputation. Enough said. Just pity that such awful attitude negates hard work of all good folks who works there as diving instructors. Conclusion: great resort, we’ll definitely return, as we really enjoyed every day and every hour there, and we definitely recommend this resort. Our only suggestion to management… improve quality in the lobby bar. And stay away from “Dreadful Dressel”. Any questions, I'll be happy to answer Room Tip: Buildings 3, 4 and 7 - near the pool and the beach"Rating: 9,0
5 cruises, rent a condo by owner in Maui, this was my first all inclusive Resort.
"I was impressed with the cleanliness and service. The beach was very nice, the pools beautiful, with a great area for the kids to play. The staff wasn't always fluent in English but when this was an issue they were quick to get someone to help with conversing. Overall for my first "Resort" experience I had a wonderful time. Oh, and the golf course was fun and challenging."Rating: 9,0